ISRI’s PSI Chapter Awards Record Setting 15 Scholarships

Aug 8, 2023, 16:54 PM
Content author:
Arnulfo Moreno
External link:
Image Url:

The Paper Stock Industries (PSI) Chapter, a national chapter of ISRI, awarded $40,000 to 15 students in its annual academic scholarship program, setting records for the total funds awarded and the number of student recipients. The scholarship includes one $5,000 grand-prize scholarship and 14 $2,500 merit scholarships. Winning students can use the PSI scholarship funds to pay for certificate or degree programs at technical, trade, and vocational schools as well as two-year or four-year post-secondary institutions.

This year’s $5,000 Grand-Prize Scholarship was awarded to Maddie Dummitt. Her mother, Heather Dummitt, works for ISRI member company Graphic Packaging International in Macon, Georgia.

Heather Dummitt (left) and Maddie Dummitt (right), Grand-Prize Scholarship Awardee


The PSI scholarship program is open to students who are dependents of employees in the recycling divisions of PSI Chapter member companies. The PSI Chapter has been awarding academic scholarships on an annual basis for more than 26 years.

The 2023 winners, along with their sponsoring ISRI/PSI Chapter member company/location and the school they will attend, are as follows:

$5,000 Grand-Prize Scholarship Winner

Madeline Dummitt, Graphic Packaging International (Macon, Ga.); Clemson University

$2,500 Merit Scholarship Winners

Harrison Buchheit, Graphic Packaging International (Middletown, Ohio); University of Kentucky

Charles Butryn, Greif (Smyrna, Ga.); Georgia Institute of Technology

Emily Grace Cater, International Paper (Memphis, Tenn.); Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Luke Desenberg, CellMark (Novato, Calif.); University of California, Santa Cruz

Jack Giovetsis, Recycling Management Resources (Barrington, N.J.); Lehigh University

Madison Howard, Allan Company (San Diego); University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Timothy Irons, WestRock (Battle Creek, Mich.); University of Tennessee, Knoxville

Addison Kamminga, PADNOS (Grandville, Mich.); Michigan State University

Andrew Marcinko, Waste Management (Houston); The University of Alabama

Rachel Nordt, Waste Management (Houston); Hardin-Simmons University

Evan Schuster, WestRock (Olathe, Kan.); Butler Community College

Kelsey Shaffer, International Paper (Prattville, Ala.); University of Washington

Masen Starks, International Paper (Mansfield, La.); Louisiana Scholars’ College of Northwestern State University

Brooke Tratner, Wilmington Paper—The Program™ (Pine Brook, N.J.); Fairleigh Dickinson University

The submission requirements and application for the 2024 scholarships will be posted later this year at For more information on the PSI Chapter scholarship program and this year’s winners, contact Nini Krever at (561) 762-7574 or

The Paper Stock Industries (PSI) Chapter, a national chapter of ISRI, awarded $40,000 to 15...
  • Featured

Have Questions?