• Press Release

The Recycling Education and Research Foundation Announces 2021-2022 Scholarship Recipients

RERF awards scholarships to 78 students to support their higher education

(Washington, DC) - The Recycling Education and Research Foundation (RERF), a 501 (c) 3, not-for-profit organization, has announced that 78 students were awarded scholarships between $500 and $5,000 to be applied to their respective higher education. The Recycling Education and Research Foundation awarded $140,000 to college-bound students across the United States and Canada for the 2021-22 academic year, an increase of more than $17,000 from the previous year.

Funded by 13 Institute of Scrap Recycling Industries (ISRI) national chapters and regions with scholarship programs, scholarships are awarded to dependents of employees of active ISRI member companies located within chapters or regions. Each chapter and region supports their scholarship program through fundraisers, donations, and other initiatives throughout the year.

“Please join the Recycling Education and Research Foundation and ISRI in congratulating our 2021 scholarship recipients,” said Recycling Education and Research Foundation Chairman Kevin Lamar. “We wish all of them educational, professional, and personal success!”

2021 Recycling Education and Research Foundation Scholarship Recipients

ISRI Empire Chapter
Patrick Collins - SUNY College of Environmental Science and Forestry
Katelyn  Morris - University of South Carolina

ISRI Gulf Coast Regional Chapter   
Waylon Adams - The University of Tulsa
Christopher Arme - Southern Methodist University
Jordan Chisholm - University of Oklahoma
Christopher Chisholm - Texas Tech University
Camryn Costanza - Louisiana State University
Kinley Funderburk - Baton Rouge Community College
Christopher Garay - Texas A&M University
Alyssa Huff - University of North Texas
Kyla Ibarra - Tulsa Community College
Miranda Jaramillo - The University of Texas at El Paso
Cameron Johnson - Texas Tech University
Johnathan Massie - McNeese State University
Robert McWilliams - Colorado School of Mines
Hunter Price - University of Central Arkansas
Angelina Quigley - Southeastern Louisiana University
Maddie White - Northeastern State University

ISRI Indiana Chapter                     
Megan Clanton - Indiana Wesleyan University
Cassady Coomes - Murray State University
Tyler Groves - Ball State University
Jason Stutz - Indiana University

ISRI Michigan Chapter                   
Kelsey Diekman - Kalamazoo College
Lela Dobrzelewski - Western Michigan University
Patrick Gault - Ferris State University
Nikki Grady - Purdue University Fort Wayne
Rachael Lauzon - University of Windsor
Emily Ostrowski - Lawrence Technological University

ISRI Mid-Atlantic Chapter
David Staronka - Stevens Institute of Technology
Emily Stevens - Pennsylvania College of Technology

ISRI Northern Ohio Chapter
Ameila Carmack - College of Wooster
Adam Swab - Miami University

ISRI Ohio Valley Chapter
Vanessa Addison - University of Dayton
Brianna Carmack - Ohio Wesleyan University
Holden Fenoff - The American College of the Building Arts
Cheyenne Wimsatt - University of Louisville

ISRI Pacific Northwest Chapter
Louisa Healey - Brigham Young University
Tavie Johnson - University of Toronto
Hannah Sidney - Western Washington University
Kaelyn Tally - Rogue Community College - Redwood Campus

ISRI Pittsburgh Chapter
Elizabeth Bojalad - Pennsylvania State University
Robert Carson - Slippery Rock University
Zachary Diethorn - The University of Alabama
Melanie Mienke - University of Pittsburgh - Greensburg
Madison Stanton University of Pikeville

ISRI PSI Chapter
Nathan Dummitt - Georgia Institute of Technology
Jaden Johns - Mississippi State University
Abigail Kodidek - The University of Chicago
Rory Perkins - Washington University in St. Louis
William Ragans lll - Florida State University
Ileana Rodriguez - Haverford College
Elizabeth Stricklin - Auburn University
Julia Williams - University of Miami
Rhiannon Wimer - Bucknell University

ISRI Rocky Mountain Chapter                     
Avery Hess - University of Utah
Hannah Schipaanboord - Austin Community College Hays Campus

ISRI Southeast Regional Chapter
Jakob Abrams - Arizona State University
Edwin Amaya - Northern Virginia Community College
Silvia Arevalo Caceres - Montgomery College
Mason Bernard - Clemson University
Blake Bernard - Clemson University
Nolan Cardwell - Tennessee Tech University
Allie Cardwell - University of Alabama
Garrett Crumes - Owensboro Community and Technical College
Jamie Erwin - Austin Peay State University
Emily Gibson - Longwood University
Dulce Labra - University of South Carolina Upstate
Guillermo Labra - Spartanburg Community College
Alexandria Laughter - Converse College
Stephen McCall - Middle Tennessee State University
Emma Rutherford - University of Kentucky
Samuel Schaer - Brevard College
Iris Schaer - Florida State University
Lydia Schulz - University of South Carolina
Cole Scott - Western Kentucky University
Mason Weaver - Tennessee College of Applied Technology-McMinnville

ISRI Upper Midwest Chapter       
Abby Brandecker - University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire
Kyle Janssen - St. Cloud State University



The Recycling Education and Research Foundation's (RERF) mission is to sponsor projects which promote public awareness, education, research, and the advancement of recycling. The Foundation has fulfilled its mission in two primary areas by offering scholarships to undergraduate and graduate students, military veterans, and funding research beneficial to the recycling industry. Through generous donations from people within the industry, the Foundation has awarded more than $1.6 million in scholarships to 1,200 students across the country and has overseen much-needed research in science and technology involved with recycling.

Have Questions?