FMCSA Crash Preventability Determination Program

FMCSA recently launched its Crash Preventability Determination program. This allows motor carriers to submit a Request for Data Review with the police accident report and other supporting documentation to determine if a crash was “Not Preventable”. 

Crashes found to be Not Preventable are not included in the Crash Indicator Behavior Analysis and Safety Improvement BASIC that FMCSA uses in calculating CSA scores and prioritizing motor carriers for safety interventions.

Eligible crashes must have occurred on or after August 1, 2019.  The following crash types are eligible for review:

  • Struck in the rear.
  • Wrong direction or illegal turns.
  • Parked or legally stopped.
  • Failure of the other vehicle to stop.
  • Driver under the influence.
  • Medical issues.
  • Falling asleep or distracted driving.
  • Cargo/equipment/debris or infrastructure failure.
  • Animal strike.
  • Suicide.
  • Rare or unusual.

Additional information is available online. For transportation safety related issues contact ISRI’s Transportation Safety Director, Commodor Hall.

You are not allowed to post comments.

Have Questions?